Friday Fictioneers – His Final Creation

11 04 2013

Hi all. Back by popular (ok singular) demand after getting distracted by having the kids at home over Easter, it’s time for a bit of Friday Fiction. 100 words or thereabouts based on a photo prompt, this week supplied by Sandra Crook. If you want to join in, you’re welcome. See Rochelle’s blog for the guidelines.

 

(c) Sandra Crook

 

His Final Creation

When I was told that my grandfather always put a bit of himself into everything he built, I didn’t think they meant it literally.

Made with – and from – all of his most cherished tools, his one-man, ride-on plough embodied all his beliefs of function over form. Which is pretty ironic as some think that the rusty heap now sitting on my porch is actually a work of art!

His final creation may look a bitย tired and antiquated by modern standards, but I know for a fact … it’s still got heart.

Actions

Information

29 responses

11 04 2013
rochellewisoff

Dear Pete,
Seriously, I mentioned to someone this morning that I’d missed the Orchards. Nice to see you back with your poignant story. Nicely done. Hope it was a grand holiday.
Shalom,
Rochelle

12 04 2013
writeondude

Thanks, Rochelle. I’m glad we made the time to join in this week.

11 04 2013
sustainabilitea

Rochelle beat me again (that’s because she’s on vacation and I’m working!!!) to welcome back and hope you had a wonderful break. I enjoyed this story on the human level and the possibility, intended or not, that part of Grandpa really was in his creation.

janet

12 04 2013
writeondude

Thanks. The kids had a break, the parents just get frazzled.

11 04 2013
waitingforaname

Sweet story. I’m not sure if I should be a little creeped out by the idea that Grandpa may have literally put his heart into this contraption, but I like it either way!

12 04 2013
writeondude

Oh he’s in there allright. Heart and soul.

11 04 2013
kdillmanjones

Oh, very creepy. I look at the bike so differently now! Nice story!

12 04 2013
writeondude

Thank you.

12 04 2013
The Writers Village

Good story. I liked the “function over form”.
So would that mean he preferred “Hearts over Harleys”

12 04 2013
writeondude

Exactly. Practical over picturesque. Although being a biker …

12 04 2013
Swirling Turnip

I love knowing that grandpa touched and used every part of this sculpture. I would keep it forever. Welcome back, I missed your touch.

12 04 2013
writeondude

Not sure what I can say to that … err … you’re welcome.

12 04 2013
yerpirategunn

Yes, metaphorically..

12 04 2013
writeondude

๐Ÿ˜‰

12 04 2013
Anne Orchard

Hmm… I guess it would be his final creation then! Good to have a piece of Grandpa still around. Well done, a great idea.

12 04 2013
writeondude

Thank you. Please ignore Swirling Turnip’s comment and Pirate’s unsubstantiated insinuations.

12 04 2013
Sandra

Nice piece that left me wondering… ๐Ÿ™‚

12 04 2013
writeondude

Thank you for the comment and the photo.

12 04 2013
unspywriter

Very nice–your tag “cyborg” confirmed it for me–sometimes you can’t get them to leave the farm. Great little story.

Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/siblings/

12 04 2013
writeondude

If in doubt, always check the tags!

12 04 2013
ramblingsfromamum

Yep wasn’t going down the used body part theme, I read as he made it with love… but then again I could be wrong and I shall also welcome you back to the fold.

12 04 2013
writeondude

Thank you.

12 04 2013
silentlyheardonce

Grandpa lives on. A sweet story.

12 04 2013
writeondude

Heart and soul.

12 04 2013
camgal

Kind of a creepy way to look at living a part of yourself to live on but a sweet story nonetheless. ๐Ÿ™‚

13 04 2013
EagleAye

Grandpa lives on, and he’s lookin’ mighty dangerous. Nobody better touch the bike. Good one.

13 04 2013
40again

Strangely, I like that grandpa is in there, and glad that you’re back.
Great story an enjoyable read
Dee

14 04 2013
David Stewart

Nice tribute, although it strikes me as having a macabre undertone. The grandfather literally putting himself into the bike, it having heart… Anyway, I enjoyed it. ๐Ÿ™‚

15 04 2013
Joe Owens

Sounds like a Terminator type of experience. Glad you made it back this week. I will look for Anne’s prompt.

Leave a Reply

