Friday Fictioneers – When Tomorrow Comes

8 02 2013

Hi folks, Friday Fiction time. 100 words based on a photo prompt. All the details are here at Rochelle’s website. Join in, it’s fun.

Copyright Rich Voza

When Tomorrow Comes

As the sun set slowly behind the distant mountains, silence settled like a heavy blanket over deserted runways and empty terminals. Gazing into the glare at the empty jet and the abandoned tractors reminded me of how quickly everybody had left.

They called it The Exodus. Billions of people evacuated through thousands of wormholes to New Earth, all to escape the wrath of an impending asteroid strike.

Some stayed: dedicated scientists, volunteers like me, the very old, the cantankerous. There’s still a chance the measures we’ve taken might divert it.

If we see the sun rise again tomorrow, we’ll know.



Actions

Information

39 responses

8 02 2013
Joe Owens

Ah the first doomsday link this week. One wonders what would happen if an asteroid was on a direct path. The movies have speculated and history tells us the dinos were no match for the effects.

11 02 2013
writeondude

I think I could turn most prompts into doom and gloom without too much effort. It’s in my nature.

8 02 2013
unspywriter

Very well done. We need to get working on those wormholes, eh?

Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/ad-astra/

11 02 2013
writeondude

Absolutely. I think we’re due another big asteroid right about n…

8 02 2013
t

“the cantankerous” – loved it!

11 02 2013
writeondude

Doesn’t matter if it’s flood, swarms of locusts, or an asteroid, they’ll always be somebody that won’t budge.

8 02 2013
Anne Orchard

Would you be one of the cantankerous left behind, or elbowing people out of the way to get to the wormhole? I like the idea of New Earth, hope we don’t mess that one up. Very well written and an excellent premise.

11 02 2013
writeondude

I think you know me well enough to say that I’m the former.

11 02 2013
Anne Orchard

Ah, but wormholes, how exciting would that be?! You’re so polite though that you would be at the back of the queue, I was way out with the elbowing.

8 02 2013
elappleby

A very atmospheric piece of writing – I really liked this one. Let’s hope the sun rises in the morning 🙂

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks. I haven’t decided yet.

8 02 2013
JKBradley

Enjoyed the feel you conveyed, or that I perceived, of exhaustion and having tried all that you could to save the planet, to only be left with waiting to see what happens.

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks for the kind comments.

8 02 2013
deanabo

I love these types of stories. This is very good!

11 02 2013
writeondude

You’re very kind. Thank you.

9 02 2013
train-whistle

Oh, I really like this one. Your writing gives a sense of peace in the face of something terrifying. “Some stayed: dedicated scientists, volunteers like me, the very old, the cantankerous. ” — a favorite line.

11 02 2013
writeondude

My character is one of the volunteers keeping things going for when everyone gets back. Personally, I fall under cantankerous. Thanks.

9 02 2013
Swirling Turnip

Loved this! You defined human nature in a few words. Some will run, those without skills to help or just plain afraid, and those who face the danger, determined to find a solution.

11 02 2013
writeondude

But in the end it’s down to crossing fingers and hoping. Thanks.

9 02 2013
dmmacilroy

Dear Pete,

This was GOOD. You struck just the right note of dedication and anticipation. Very cool story.

Aloha,

Doug

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thank you, Doug.

9 02 2013
wmqcolby

Pete, I can see your story mixed with Anne’s for some reason … 😉
All in all, great job. Worded SO well, got me into the story. Good stuff.

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks, we’ll have to come up with a proper collaberation one week.

11 02 2013
wmqcolby

I’m looking forward to that!

9 02 2013
Sarah Ann

I enjoyed the uncertainty of this. I hope the sun rises.

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks, but I’m not sure it will.

9 02 2013
rochellewisoff

Dear Pete,
A well told story of desolation told in an ominous tone. I could go on about what I liked so suffice it to say, I really liked this piece!!!
Shalom,
Rochelle

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks Rochelle.

10 02 2013
claireful

We’re on the very edge of end of the planet and you leave us hanging there – love it. Have you read The Dog Stars by Peter Hella? It’s about a pilot and his dog after a flu epidemic wipes out most of civilisation. Your story reminded me of it.

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll have a look at that.

10 02 2013
rich

i guess we’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out if it worked. i supposed if we hear nothing, we know it did not. well done.

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks Rich. Just been reading your interview with Linda. Good luck with all your future projects.

11 02 2013
rich

thanks very much.

10 02 2013
Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

Very good description of impeding doom. And of course the cantankerous would remain. 🙂

11 02 2013
writeondude

i.e. Me.

11 02 2013
nightlake

looks like a move could be made from this story..an interesting thought indeed

11 02 2013
writeondude

Thanks, I think there’s something longer in there, but I’m worried that the whole asteroid hitting Earth thing has been done a bit too much already.

11 02 2013
kz

well done.. the cantankerous — yes, i love it.like they’re an entirely different classification of humans altogether ^^ lol and i really like the uncertainty in the ending…

11 02 2013
Hayley

I feel like this could be the beginning of a novel/movie. I wonder what awaits those who stay behind (as well as those who have left…)

Leave a Reply

