Friday Fictioneers

23 11 2012

Didn’t make it last week due to work commitments, but back this week and looking forward to seeing what this week’s prompt has inspired. Comments welcome, I’m here to learn.

Copyright Joyce Johnson

Which Way Now?

I charged through the white-walled maze, every breath burning with the effort.

I slid to a halt at the next junction. A small metal face on the wall snapped into life. “Follow the pointing hand. Everybody else went that way. Follow the others!”

That’s what we’re supposed to do, isn’t it? Follow in the footsteps. But what if we want to make our own path? The finger pointed right, I ran left. At the next junction it pointed left, I ran right.

“Stop! Stop!” the faces yelled. “You can’t go against convention!”

But I could. I can. And I will.



Actions

Information

23 responses

23 11 2012
rochellewisoff

Good for you, Pete. I liked the message in this one and support your right to go against convention. Nice job. Very visual. Glad you made it back this week.
Shalom,
Rochelle

23 11 2012
writeondude

Thanks, Rochelle. I probably had time to write 100 words, I just didn’t have the time to read all the other wonderful stories.

23 11 2012
Mridula

Absolutely loved the idea!
Make your own path, leave a trail at least!

Critique/review/comment this flash fiction in the LINK please
http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-social-moral/short-story-remembrance-the-fall/

23 11 2012
writeondude

What ever path you take, there’s no going back.

23 11 2012
Mridula

Yes! And sometimes, even if we go back, we may not reach the first place!

23 11 2012
sustainabilitea

You saw something here none of us did.

23 11 2012
writeondude

I see a lot of things that nobody else does. My wife is starting to worry!

23 11 2012
sustainabilitea

Ha!!

23 11 2012
Anne Orchard

I thought it was the other way around! You think I’m away with the fairies. x

23 11 2012
Sandra

Great nightmarish quality to this, with a very convincing voice. Good one! Well done.

23 11 2012
writeondude

Thank you, Sandra.

23 11 2012
bridgesareforburning

Hi Pete,
Glad you’re back this week. Convention is boring. Glad your character decided not to follow it. Ron

23 11 2012
writeondude

Convention can be boring, but you’re much less likely to make a hash of life.

23 11 2012
mari wells

This was really good.

23 11 2012
writeondude

Thank you.

23 11 2012
Anne Orchard

Super story, well paced. Loved the fact that you made the mask speak. I didn’t think of that.

23 11 2012
brudberg

Yes, a wise choice indeed.

23 11 2012
tedstrutz

Good for him! I liked how all the faces started yelling, Dude.

24 11 2012
rich

if you don’t, who will? well done.

24 11 2012
billgncs

good for you! But it is a lonely way.

26 11 2012
Abraham

Your story certainly followed a path none/few of the others did!
I like it!

28 11 2012
dmmacilroyDouglas macIlroy

Dear Pete,

Your character had character. I liked that a lot. kind of explains why i didn’t do any black whatever shopping this weekend, too. Good take on the prompt.

Aloha,

Doug

29 11 2012
betarules

Go your own way. I wonder who gets through first.

Leave a Reply

