Friday Fictioneers

14 09 2012

Have come across Madison Woods Friday Fictioneers. A group of people who post 100 word pieces of fiction loosely based on a photo prompt on a Friday just because they can. Seems like a friendly group, so think I’ll give it a go.

This week’s photo looks like this:

copyright Rochelle Wishoff-Fields

Comments welcome, but bear in mind it’s my first time!

The Time Has Come

Reaching out, he gently moved aside the web entangled branch and peered out at a dismaying sight. Laid out in the valley before him was an industrial wasteland; rows of grimy factories, each one sending forth clouds of black smoke and resonating with enough noise to wake the very trees. Absently he stroked his beard, dislodging beetles and earwigs who quickly scuttled to a safer home amidst his long leafy hair. He eased the branch back, careful not to disturb the webs and turned away from the desecration. His time had come: nature must reclaim the land once more.



Actions

Information

20 responses

14 09 2012
Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

I wasn’t sure who “he” was but I wanted to know more. Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! It’s a great exercise in economizing words and making every one of them count. Keep coming back. Good bit of descriptive writing. I’m #4 on the list.

14 09 2012
Sandra

Enjoyed this – I wondered whether the tree was the narrator. But the prospect of beetles and earwigs in the hair… gruesome. Nicely done and welcome. I think you’ll enjoy participating.

14 09 2012
writeondude

Not the tree, but he does have a name. 🙂

14 09 2012
writelindy

I enjoyed your story. Complete and yet so vague.

14 09 2012
sustainabilitea

Welcome! Excellent first submission. Brought the ents taking back Isengard to mind but I’ve seen several submissions that brought LOTR to mind this week. I look forward to another good read next week.

14 09 2012
Kathy McClure

NIIICE! I wonder who the green man is (how I’ll think of him, at any rate). Loved the life in his beard and hair.

14 09 2012
The Dude

The Green Man is exactly who I had in mind. 🙂

14 09 2012
Anne Orchard

Very nice, and I loved the green man character. Hope to hear more of him!

14 09 2012
The Dude

You might hear him him rustle past in the future, or I may branch out; turn over a new leaf you might say.

14 09 2012
Madison Woods

Sounds like the green man is catching up on the latest human activities 😉 Great story. Thanks for joining us!

14 09 2012
The Dude

Thank you for inviting me and for the kind comment. I hope to be back next week.

14 09 2012
The Bumble Files

Great! Welcome to the group. This is my second time posting an entry this week. I think this is a wonderful group. Back to your writing, I like how the web was the beginning and end of your story, tying it all together. I found it very cohesive and descriptive. There was so much packed into this moment. Wonderful job!

15 09 2012
The Dude

Thank you for your kind comments.

15 09 2012
rich

a most worthy task.

15 09 2012
The Dude

Thank you Rich.

15 09 2012
billgncs

welcome and good job. It left me wanting to know more of the story and the character.

15 09 2012
The Dude

Thank you. This really was just a short idea, but who knows? Maybe there’s something longer in there somewhere.

15 09 2012
billgncs

yep, part of the exercise to is to write a “hook” wasting no words, and you succeeded

18 09 2012
dmmacilroy

Dear Dude,

I thought at first of Rip Van Winkle waking to find that desolation had sprung up all around him, but your sleepeer was far more original. Welcome aboard.

aloha,

Doug

21 09 2012
writeondude

Thank you Doug. I was definitely thinking about the Green Man, and the short piece kind of echoed my own love of the countryside and dislike towns and cities. Whilst a return to an agrarian society is probably not possible for us, maybe there’s another Earth somewhere out there where it is.

Leave a Reply

